Skip to content

Baked Jam Roll

July 11, 2012
Baked Jam Roll

Winter being upon us in the southern half of the world, it’s time for all those comfort food recipes: lots of butter, sugar and flour.

Baked jam roll is one of those old fashioned desserts our mothers and grandmothers used to use to fill up a brood of bottomless pits on the cheap. It’s simple, cheap, but most of all, so, so delicious.

My Mum always said to just use a scone dough for the pastry. For my own recipe, I’ve taken the Golden Syrup dumplings recipe from our battered old copy of the classic Cookery the Australian Way (one day I will get around to writing an entry on cookbooks), and tweaked it a little.

What do I need?

Dough:

  • 1 tbsp of butter
  • 1 cup of self-raising flour
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 2-3 tbsp of milk
    (maybe more, depending)
  • 2-3 tbsp jam
    (I prefer raspberry or blackberry jam, but plum or strawberry do fine)

Syrup:

  • 2 cups of water
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 2 tbsp of butter
  • 1 tbsp of golden syrup
    (golden syrup is apparently not that common in the United States, where it is also known as cane syrup, often used in Cajun cooking. Corn syrup can be substituted, perhaps)
  • 1 tsp of lemon juice

What do I do?

Heat the oven to a medium 180-190°C.

Rub the butter into the flour, and then add the egg and enough milk to make a soft dough.

Roll the dough roughly out so it’s between one or two centimetres thick (about half an inch), and spread the jam along one edge.

Roll the dough up into a log, and pinch the edges sealed. Place it into a greased baking dish.

Put the syrup ingredients into a saucepan, stir until the sugar has dissolved, and bring it to the boil. Let it simmer for a couple of minutes.

Pour the syrup over the roll, and bake it for about half an hour. Spoon the syrup over the roll now and again to get a really nice, gooey glaze on it.

Serve it up with cream and/or ice-cream and a good, hot cup of tea, and banish the winter chill.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. July 11, 2012 3:14 pm

    Pure comfort in a bowl!
    🙂 Mandy

    • July 12, 2012 2:48 am

      Or, as my wife says, ‘are you TRYING to make me get fat?!’ … as she scarfs it up 🙂

      It really is the thing for winter nights, though.

  2. Eva Taylor permalink
    July 11, 2012 9:12 pm

    I’ve never heard of these. You should have a photo so we can see what they look like.

    • July 12, 2012 2:47 am

      Here’s another photo I took from a previous session, but I didn’t use because it didn’t come out as well. This one was a little doughy. But, as you can see, it’s basically just a rolled-up log of pastry, kind of like a swiss roll made of scone dough – cooked in sweet syrup.

      • July 12, 2012 4:16 pm

        Thanks for that, I wouldn’t have pictured it. I’m sure it’s a favourite among the children.

  3. July 13, 2012 8:55 pm

    I used to make something like this when I was sugar hungry teen. I would never have remembered it so thank you.
    (Just read that you were studying journalism, I hope it goes really well for you.)

    • July 14, 2012 12:23 am

      Glad to have been of service 🙂

      I got my first semester results just last week, top marks! (I have to boast 🙂 )

Leave a Reply

