Skip to content

Potato Salad

January 11, 2012

Well, it’s allegedly summer here right now, although when I was moved to run the heat pump for an hour or so this morning, I strongly questioned that assumption. Anyway, it’s just gone Christmas (and I hope everyone had a good one!), and in my part of the world that means that it must be summer.

One of the great things about summer is salads, and one of my favourite salads is potato salad. I’ve tried various permutations on the basic potato salad, and this is the recipe I’ve distilled from my experimentation. It’s pretty simple, but with a particular twist that I like to think is my own.

I’m sure there could be endless debate about what is the best potato variety to use, but I just use Nicolas, which are pretty much the stock-in-trade here at Chez Bloke. They’re a nice variety of potato that seem to be pretty much all-round useful for everything.

When it comes to the mayonnaise, bugger all that low-fat rubbish, use a good quality, whole egg mayo. Where’s the fun in a potato salad without a yummy, creamy, proper mayonnaise?

I use lemon thyme in this recipe. Lemon thyme (Thymus x citriodorus – which I think sounds like the scientific name for Pepe Le Peu) is not quite as pungent as regular thyme, and also has an incredible lemon scent almost like a perfume. It’s a must-have for roast chicken, and is also used in Moroccan cooking quite often.

It’s not a herb I see regularly in shops, although it’s quite easy to find the plant to grow. Consider yourself under orders to grow it in your herb garden or in a pot, now.

If you can, make the salad a bit ahead, so the lemon thyme has the opportunity to infuse the dressing a little.

What do I need?

  •  4-6 medium to large potatoes
  • 2 or 3 eggs
  • 2 spring onions (scallions/green onions).
    Don’t use the white part, if you want to keep this recipe low FODMAP
  • 3/4 cup or so of mayonnaise
    Some mayos contain gluten, so check the label
  • 1/4 cup Greek yoghurt
  • A spring or two of lemon thyme
  • Small bunch of fresh parsley
  • 1 tsp or so of cracked black pepper

What do I do?

Cut the potatoes into roughly 1 inch cubes (for some strange reason, I find myself falling back into Imperial measurements at times) and place them into a saucepan of cold water, and put it on to boil. Bring it to the boil and cook the potatoes for about ten minutes, maybe a little less. Check them with a skewer or small knife to see if they’re tender. Be sure not to overcook them or the whole salad will turn to mush.

When they’re cooked, drain them and leave them to cool. I often run a bit of cold water over them for half a minute, to help them along.

While the potatoes are cooking, put the eggs in a small saucepan and hard-boil them. When they’re boiled (and cooled!) peel the shells off, and put the eggs aside.

Combine the mayonnaise, the yoghurt, chopped spring onions, the pepper, chopped parsley, and leaves stripped off the lemon thyme. If the lemon thyme is flowering, make sure to include those as well. The small, pink flowers make a nice visual touch.

When the potatoes and eggs are cooled, cut the eggs into quarters and put them in a large bowl with the potatoes, tip in the mayonnaise mixture and gently toss to combine. Don’t get too enthusiastic with the tossing, or you’ll start breaking up the potatoes, and it all gets a bit mushy.

Great with a summer barbecue and a refreshing, chilled white.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. January 11, 2012 4:33 pm

    I like the spices you use here. It’s winter here, but sounds like it might actually be warmer.

    • January 11, 2012 8:46 pm

      It’s ridiculous. 11°C (51°F) here this morning. And this is midsummer.

      Even the dog didn’t want to go outside.

  2. January 11, 2012 11:34 pm

    You’re absolutely right about the mayo! This salad looks very tasty. Summer? I have at least three more months until our lovely summer, so I have little sympathy for you! Although it has not been cold at all!
    I’ll have to research Nicolas potatoes, never heard of them!

  3. January 12, 2012 4:21 am

    sounds yum! do you use whole egg mayo? i always use that (less vinegary) and add some chopped dill cucumbers and a spoonful of seeded mustard.

    • January 12, 2012 12:29 pm

      Definitely! I think I said so in the post ..? Anyway, my current favourite is Thömy. I should look into making my own, perhaps. The chooks are still pumping out 5 eggs a day – one yesterday was 80 grams!

      One of my sisters-in-law adds chopped gherkins to hers, which I can’t say I’m too fond of.

      • January 13, 2012 12:14 am

        derr and so you did, musn’t have read properly!!

Leave a Reply

