Skip to content

Scrambled Eggs on Toast

October 2, 2011

Since the return of spring finally got our chooks laying again, I’ve been meaning to celebrate the return of freshly laid cackleberries by featuring a recipe that uses eggs as the centrepiece. So I decided, well, why not the humble scrambled eggs on toast?

Scrambled eggs are one of the absolute basics that everyone, everyone should know. But there are scrambled eggs, and there are really good scrambled eggs. Far be it for me to boast, but I’ve been assured that mine are the best. I’ll leave that up to you to decide, but I will let you in on my secret ingredient. I’m pretty sure it’ll surprise you.

our chooks

Our chooks!

What do I need?

  • Eggs
    (I generally work on a formula of 1 egg for each person, and 1 extra. Or maybe two, if you’re making a big lot. This recipe is for 4 people, so I used 6 eggs)
  • Milk. Use a generous splash … I don’t know, 1/2 cup or more.
  • Small handful of chopped fresh parsley (couple of tablespoons, chopped)
  • Fresh chives. Maybe 1 or 2 tbsp, chopped.
  • Cracked black pepper. To taste; not too much – a couple of squeezes of the pepper ball.
  • 1 or 2 generous dollops of sour cream
  • Butter
  • Bread for toasting

… aaaaaand the secret ingredient …

  • 1 processed cheese slice. Yep, you heard me. One of those ‘Kraft Singles’-type cheese slices. Trust me on this.

What do I do?

Crack the eggs into a bowl, add the milk and beat the mix until it’s good and foamy. A good hand whisk should do the trick, no need for an electric beater. As the old Battling Tops ad said, ‘it’s all in the wrist action!’

Add the herbs, pepper and sour cream. Beat it all in again.

Put your saucepan or pan to heat on low to medium.

Tear the cheese slice up into pieces and stir them through the egg mix.

Melt some butter in the pan, and pour in the egg mix.

Now, the important thing when you’re cooking the eggs, is keep stirring! You don’t want the egg to stick to the bottom of the pan and start burning, and leaving nasty little brown bits in. So, stir the eggs, maybe not constantly, but almost. When you stir, make sure you scrape the spoon or fork around the bottom of the pan, to loosen anything that may be beginning to stick.

Once the eggs have achieved a good, fluffy consistency, serve them up on some slices of crusty, buttered toast. I find that if I put the bread on to toast about the same time I start cooking the eggs, the cooking time of each co-ordinates pretty well.

scrambled eggs ingredients

Everything you need to make the best scrambled eggs

11 Comments leave one →
  1. October 3, 2011 7:44 am

    It is amazing how differently we all make scrambled eggs – I don’t add anything to my eggs, except for a good amount of butter to the plan and salt and pepper – okay a little sprinkle of aromat too! I do love the idea of the parsley and chives in the mix though.
    Have a great week and really cool to have you posting again.
    🙂 Mandy

  2. October 3, 2011 9:24 am

    I’ve never heard of Aromat before. I had to look it up. 🙂

  3. October 3, 2011 9:32 am

    Evil stuff – full of everything we should not be putting into our bodies! *embarrassed*

  4. October 3, 2011 2:42 pm

    I love fresh chives and hardly ever remember to buy them. Thanks for the reminder, looks great.

    • October 4, 2011 12:26 am

      Grow them! I’ve had a herb garden ever since I moved out of home.

      The first, in the mid-80s, was a planter box that I made out of scrap timber. It fell apart in fairly short order, but it still held dirt enough to plant a few herbs. When we finally rented a house with a yard, I planted out a herb garden, and the herb garden was about the first thing I did when we moved to Tasmania and bought our house.

      Chives aren’t perennial, of course. I need to plant a couple of patches at different times, as I have with parsley, so I have a fairly constant supply to hand.

  5. October 3, 2011 4:27 pm

    Hi, I found you after I saw that hilarious video of Professor Elemental. It seems that there are very few men out there who don’t cook these days. In fact, most of our married friend, the men do most of the cooking! I shall be by again to see what wonderful goodies you are cooking up on your side of the globe. Thanks!

    • October 4, 2011 1:19 pm

      Maybe it depends on where you live? I live in rural Tasmania, and believe me, not a lot of men are the main cooks here.

      Then again, this video seems to suggest it’s still a bit of a novelty elsewhere, too (or maybe this lot are just being too precious?):

      Thanks for the kind words 🙂 I’ve just started trolling through your blog, too.

  6. October 4, 2011 2:19 am

    Cackleberries? 🙂
    Love scrambled eggs…. or Scream Bled Eggs as I once saw written on a menu in India.

Leave a Reply

