Skip to content

Back tomorrow!

September 29, 2011

Weak excuses

Hello everyone, and once again, apologies for my long absence. What can I say in my defence? I guess the major reason for being distracted was returning to study at university. I’ll be studying journalism from next year, but for the current semester, I’ve been getting back into the swing of study, with a couple of units on philosophy and literature. So, I’ve been kind of preoccupied with interesting stuff like metaphysics and the novels of Raymond Chandler, as well as godawful tosh like Virginia Woolf.

Unfortunately, I let that be an excuse for neglecting the truly important things – food! And writing about food!

I’ve also been mildly distracted by things like work and family medical issues, but that’s no excuse.

The horror of hospital food

Perhaps as some sort of karmic atonement for my sins, I’m currently enduring the penitential horrors of hospital food. Oh, dear Gods, what do those people do to vegetables, to turn them into such disgusting mush? Fortunately, when I am in hospital, I usually don’t feel much like eating, so I can get by just on soup, sandwiches, stewed fruit and custard.

Just by way of explanation – it’s a chronic problem I have that flares up periodically, known as diverticular disease. Not one of the more glamorous conditions one can have. At the present, it means that I have to spend a few days on IV antibiotics. It does mean that some time in the near future I’ll have to have major surgery, which will Not Be Fun, but it is the only way to put a stop to these shenanigans.

Home tomorrow

Anyway, I’ll be going home tomorrow, and I’ll proper access to my notebooks and stuff, so I promise to start posting again from tomorrow.

Hold me to that deadline! Send me nagging messages if I don’t!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 29, 2011 8:53 am

    Really sorry to hear about your hospital stay – good to know you will be back home tomorrow. Don’t pressure yourself to do a post though – we will all still be here when you are ready – well I will be.
    Have a happy day.
    🙂 Mandy

Leave a Reply

