Skip to content

Just a news update, by way of an excuse

July 17, 2011

Hi everyone,

I know I haven’t been updating so regularly, the last fortnight, but I’ve been working some odd hours, not getting a lot of sleep, and enrolling in university to study for the first time in over 20 years.

So, yeah, kinda hectic.

But I promise I’ll start posting again soon!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. July 17, 2011 5:46 pm

    Looking forward to it!

  2. July 18, 2011 8:31 am

    Pleased I am not the only one who has not been posting regularly the past while. You are a brave man to study again after 20 years – kudos to you and looking forward to hearing more about it all.
    🙂 Mandy

    • July 18, 2011 1:17 pm

      Being one to live dangerously, I’ve also enrolled on the first week of the new semester! 🙂

      I’m starting an Associate Degree in Arts, to get up some credit to move on to a BA in Journalism next year, hopefully (the BA course wouldn’t give me full credit for my old diploma scores, the bastards).

      I’m only doing two units, to ease myself into it: one on philosophy, the other on literature. I wanted to do a politics unit, but the only one on offer needed the first semester unit as a pre-req. Damn, philosophy and politics – I’d have been in my element: so many arguments, so much fun!

  3. July 18, 2011 1:33 pm

    How rude that they wouldn’t give you full credit! Urgh! Not sure I could handle philosophy and politics at once. Enjoy. 🙂

    • July 18, 2011 1:58 pm

      It’s because my diploma is about 20 years old, and the systems were completely different then. They insisted on having 80% Distinctions. I pointed out that if they looked at the legend on mine, a Credit Pass was the highest mark on offer for that course at that time, and I had at least 80% of those, but they wouldn’t budge.

      The course I’m doing now is actually going to give me some credit towards completion, from my diploma.

Leave a Reply

