Skip to content

A bloke who can cook

April 26, 2011

Once upon a time, back in the dim, dark ages when I was a little tacker – a faraway time known as ‘the 70s’ – blokes did not cook.

Men went to work. Women stayed home to raise kids and cook meals. Back then, unless it was actually his job, the only cooking a man ever did was to occasionally burn a sacrificial sausage or two to a blackened husk.

But times changed. Today, the burdens of work and home are shared: women go to work, and men share in what my Dad’s generation called women’s work.

Except the equation’s a little lopsided: while women are working, we men aren’t entirely holding up our end of the bargain. Especially when it comes to cooking.

That’s not to say that men aren’t cooking at all, but we seem to do it as a kind of show-off hobby, experimenting with ‘special dinners’ and showpiece recipes in the same sort of way we used to stick our heads under the hoods of cars, build stuff in the shed, or work in the garden. What we aren’t doing, it appears, is the hard slog of getting something on to the table, every night of the week.

So, fellas, it’s time to do our bit, and that’s what this blog is about: getting in the kitchen, rolling up the sleeves and putting food on the table, day in, day out.

After all, fair’s fair.

Besides, there’s one other, very good reason why you should pitch in and do your share in the kitchen: you’ll get more sex.

That’s right, research shows that men who share more of the domestic duties tend to get more action in the bedroom. Hey, it’s science!

So, this is a blog about being a Bloke Who Can Cook: none of that MasterChef showboating, no bullshit about ‘plating up’, just the stuff I cook, day to day, to feed a family of four.

I avoid food snobbery, too, but there’ll be no cheating with packet mixes either. This is about how easy it really is to serve up a decent, healthy, fresh-food diet.

I do prefer to use home-made stock, definitely fresh ingredients, and fresh herbs when I can. Sometimes I’ll use the ‘good stuff’ rather than a cheap’n’easy alternative, because, well, it just tastes better. For the same reason, I use butter instead of margarine (except, of course, if you’ve got a cholesterol problem or something). But I do avoid the ultra-expensive, hand-selected, especially imported from some terroir in France snobbery, because this is about feeding a family, not about scoring points on “My Kitchen Rules”.

Besides, I can’t afford that stuff, and I’ll bet you can’t, either.

Who am I? Well, I’m not a chef, I’m not even a professional cook; I’ve never worked in hospitality or food services in my life. I’m not even a “foodie”.

I’m just a Bloke Who Can Cook.

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 2, 2011 1:00 am

    Love it! I look forward to reading and trying your recipes! 🙂

Leave a Reply

